Cave Creek Personal Assistant Jobs

Search 0 opportunities in Cave Creek, AZ.

Find a job that fits what you're looking for. 

A new job is posted on Care.com every minute. Don't miss out!

Filter by:

Previous jobs in Cave Creek

Photo for Companion Care Needed For My Father In Cave Creek

Companion Care Needed For My Father In Cave Creek

Part Time
About who needs care: Dad with Alzheimer's Dementia gradually worsening. Very poor short term memory. Type II diabetes, checks own BG usually but may need reminding. Cardiovascular disease (past history of MI, stents, bypass surgery, defib/pacer in place) but this is very stable. Left drop foot - walks with cane or walker & should wear his leg brace. Needs stand by assist for shower - fall prevention. Can bathe self in shower chair and dress self. His wife (my mom) lives with him and needs a break! The caregiving stress is getting to her. Some light housekeeping and meal prep would be helpful when not working directly with dad. He has PT exercises to work on with him and likes to walk (w/ brace & walker) to get the mail and newspaper (long driveway) but needs to be accompanied since fall risk. He is continent and feeds himself. He tries to still help with some minor household chores or easy cooking when he can. But, he can't stand for long - legs weak. He was an electrical engineer & witnessing the memory issues very hard on mom and family. Mornings are busiest time & hard for my mom to keep up. He still drives short trips accompanied, but not as much and soon will need to stop. Mom drives but hates to do so and won't go on any highways. Some driving to appointments or the store would be helpful. Mom hesitant about caregiver thinking is mainly needed "sporadically" throughout the day. She'd like to try it part time initially. Dad starting to show signs of sundowner syndrome in evenings (increased confusion) and that's when mom is most tired. I think a little evening help would also be useful, but mom wants to try very part time caregiving help initially. I am an RN case manager but live in Chandler (35-40 min drive) & work full time so mainly can help on weekends. Occasionally will work from their home on a weekday, but hard to do. My sister (their younger daughter) lives 1 mile from them and helps more but is getting burned out. Please Note- they really live in North Scottsdale. About the care needs: Skills- working with dementia patients. --Calmness and patience. --Mom has anxiety issues which increase with dad's memory problems and on bad days with him. --He sometimes wants to do things he shouldn't (fall risk) and this can get mom panicky. He LOVES to fix things. He was an engineer and later in life a handyman. He forgets he can't do things due to fall risk and he may be able to if accompanied. --Mom keeps a clean house and prefers shoes off in the house. --They have two friendly dogs (but they bark a lot at first). One is an older dog with some arthritis. -- They like to go in their pool in summer but definitely need some assist and watching. Dad might not be able to get in and out of pool anymore by next summer swimming season --Dad enjoys cards, math puzzles like Sudoku. Services needed include: transportation, meal preparation, errands / shopping, and light housekeeping.