Cooking Jobs in Philadelphia

Find 2 opportunities near Philadelphia, PA.

A new job is posted every minute on Care.com - don't miss out!

Filter by:

Local Cooking Jobs

Previous Jobs
See some jobs that were posted or filled recently.

Hands-on Care Needed For My Father In Willingboro

Full Time
About who needs care: My father has multiple myeloma (blood cancer) and is wheelchair bound. He also was diagnosed with lymphedema. His case is pretty mild as the fluid builds up in his calves and ankles and can be maintained by daily wraps and elevating his feet and legs. He stands very little but is eager to get stronger to be more independent. He does need assistance with bathing as he has trouble standing for long periods and his balance is next to none. My father is a retired Criminal Investigator for the Department of Defense. He is also a disabled veteran. He has a wonderful spirit and loves football and the Eagles! He's also very much a history buff and loves to talk politics with just about anyone no matter their views. He has a great sense of humor and would match well with someone who does as well. He's the most kind and caring individual I know. Typically he wakes at around 6 a.m. He makes his bed and He dresses and heads down the stairs (on stairlift) and makes coffee and a bagel. He loves his coffee! He takes his morning medications that are already prepared and labeled. He then likes to take care of his emails and business calls to start the day. At around 11am-12 p.m. He watches some tv and takes a nap. He enjoys lunch at around 1-2 p.m. and takes his afternoon medications. He then just finds little tasks to perform around the house until dinner. He enjoys dinner around about 5:30-6 p.m. Around 8-9 p.m. he takes his nighttime medications and he heads back upstairs to put pajamas on and play games on his computer. Afterwards he gets in bed. About the care needs: Someone who enjoys talking. My father can talk about anything and everything... from history to politics to current events. Preferably someone who also like sports. The ideal person would be able to lift him in the event he has a fall or needs help transferring to and from his chairs and the bed. He is approximately 240 pounds. He will be able to assist in getting up but not much. We would also prefer someone who is extremely patient and caring... with a pleasant tone. He does not like being told what to do. We would also prefer someone who can cook relatively well. My dad enjoys tasty food and is a great cook himself (when he did cook regularly.) Services needed include: transportation, meal preparation, errands / shopping, light housekeeping, companionship, feeding, bathing / dressing, and mobility assistance.