Venice Personal Assistant Jobs

Search 12 opportunities near Venice, FL.

Find a job that fits what you're looking for. 

A new job is posted on Care.com every minute. Don't miss out!

Filter by:

Hiring near Venice:

Hands-on Care Needed For My Mother - Mom has Parkinson's and dem...

Part Time $20 – 40/hr Starts 02/04 Venice, FL
About who needs care: Mom has Parkinson's and dementia. She uses a walker but walking with the aid is very difficult for her. We do have a transport chair for her as well. She has trouble getting up from chairs and out of bed. A lift chair has been ordered for her and will be there in the next few days. She has incontinence issues as well. Her dementia is quite advanced. She is to the point of forgetting things within seconds of them happening. Her long-term and short-term memory are almost non-existent. She does remember her husband and her three kids. Has forgot the grandchildren or remembers them as being much younger. My father has been her primary caregiver, but now he has some health issues including hernia surgery next week. Two of us kids do not live in Florida, but our brother does. Mom likes to play solitaire, but other than that, she doesn't do much but sit. She used to love to play cards. She tires out very easily. She likes to fold laundry. She is usually up by 8:30 or so and needs help getting dressed. Breakfast is next and then a rest time. She goes in the bathroom and tries to fix her hair and put makeup on. However, that has been very confusing for her lately. My sister is there with them now and she caught mom putting lipstick on her eyes, and eye shadow on her lips. It breaks our hearts. After she does that, she rests again. On laundry days she loves to fold towels and other small items. Lunch is right at noon most days. She no longer can help with much in the kitchen. Some days they have her cutting up some vegetables or fruit, which she seems to enjoy. After lunch is another rest that usually lasts for most of the afternoon on and off. She may play Solitaire on her tablet if someone sets it up for her. She does have to use the bathroom frequently which takes a while. Dinner is always at 6:00 and then Wheel of Fortune and Jeopardy after that. Bedtime can vary between 9:30 and 11:00. It just depends on what went on during the day. She needs help getting dressed for bed. Most nights she gets up at least two times, sometimes more and has wet the bed often. She does wear a Poise overnight pad, but we are transitioning her into an overnight Depends right now. About the care needs: Someone with a lot of patience and a calm, yet firm personality would work best. She does not care for someone who is too bubbly. She likes things quiet. The care giver should have training with dementia patients and with patients who have severe mobility issues. Services needed include: meal preparation, errands / shopping, light housekeeping, companionship, feeding, bathing / dressing, and mobility assistance.
Showing 1 - 12 of 12